The Franciscan Crown

The History of the Crown Rosary

Above is a beautiful homily on the Feast of the Seven Joys of the Virgin Mary which is celebrated on August 26th by the Franciscan Family.

The different traditions and expressions of the rosary are beautiful and vary depending upon the local traditions and customs of the people who practice the meditation. Fr. William Saunders wrote a beautiful history of the Rosary if one desires to learn more. Each spiritual movement within the Church has unique customs and traditions to make up their daily devotional life. The Franciscan movement has their own Rosary called the Franciscan Crown. You are invited to learn this beautiful devotion.

Our Fraternity hosts a Live Stream of The Franciscan Crown on Facebook, each Thursday Night at 7 pm, MST. Check out our Fraternity’s FB page for more information and to watch past recordings of this beautiful devotion.

How to Pray the Franciscan Crown


The Crown Rosary begins immediately with the first Joy of the Virgin Mary. After each joy is announced and reflected upon, one prays the Our Father. Then on the 10 smaller beads, a Hail Mary is prayed. After the 10 Hail Marys one has the option of ending the decade by praying the Glory Be.

The 7 Joys

  1. The Annunciation
  2. The Visitation
  3. The Birth of Our Lord
  4. The Adoration of Jesus by the Magi
  5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple
  6. The Resurrection of Our Lord
  7. The Assumption of Mary in body and in soul into Heaven.

After all 7 Joys of Mary are prayed, we end by saying 2 more Hail Mary’s in honor of the 72 years of Mary’s life on earth. Then we pray the Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be for the intentions of our Holy Father.

There is also a more recent tradition to pray the 7 sorrows of Mary during times of penitential seasons.

  1. The prophecy of Simeon.
    2. The flight into Egypt.
    3. The loss of the Child Jesus in the temple.
    4. The meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross.
    5. The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus.
    6. The taking down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross.
    7. The burial of Jesus.


The Prayers Used in the Crown Rosary

The rosary in all it’s forms follows the 3 most basic forms of prayer. Vocal, meditation, and contemplation. Vocal and meditation are the most emphasized. (Click on the titles of the prayers if you would like to learn more about them and how they developed.)

 The Our Father (Matthew 6: 9 – 13; Luke 11: 2 – 4)

Our Father, who art in heaven,
Hallowed be thy name.
Thy Kingdom come,
Thy will be done.
On Earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgives us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation,
and deliver us from Evil. Amen.

The Hail Mary  (Luke 1: 28, 41-43, 48; Luke 2: 35; John 2:5)

Hail Mary, full of Grace,
the Lord is with you.
Blessed are you among women,
and blessed is the fruit of your womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, mother of God,
pray for us sinners now
and at the hour of our death. Amen. 

The Glory Be (Romans 11:26; Galatians 1:5; Ephesians 3:21; etc.)

Glory be to the Father
and to the Son
and to the Holy Spirit
as it was in the beginning
is now, and ever shall be,
world without end. Amen.

Resources to Pray the Devotionfranciscan-crown

Franciscan Resources Crown Rosary & Chaplets

St. Francis of Assisi National Shrine

How to Say the Crown Rosary (Word Doc)

How to Say the Crown Rosary (PDF File)

The Rosary and Sacred Scripture (EWTN)

The Rosary in Different Languages

The 7 sorrows of Mary (Pause on the Hail Mary to pray the decade.)
%d bloggers like this: